Where does inspiration come from?

This seems to be a question I am often asked. I find it quite hard to explain, as I take my inspiration from the world around me – shapes that I have seen in nature, in advertising, in architectural detail, food, fashion….. it is a never-ending list. Any image that appeals lodges in my head somewhere, and may or may not resurface at a later date, be that an hour later, or several years later.

I take lots of photographs, not always very good, but they feel important to me, and perhaps they help lodge the images in my brain .There are thousands and thousands of pictures on my computer that I have never gone back to, so it’s not like I spend hours trawling through old images for ideas, the important ones stick where it matters. So to show you what inspires me, here are some images from a walk to the pub on Saturday. We walked up to an amazing pub, The Turf Locks, just outside Exeter. Hope you like…

the curve of the path, the tall masts of the boats, the colours, the shadows….

the light, the colours, the textures, delicate new life v. harsh old twigs

always take loads of pictures of branches against the sky
love the shadows
wallpaper inside the pub – very pretty
mouse inside the pub – think it is made of very thin hardboard with patterns/pictures laminated/printed onto it? Pretty cool, whatever…
love the pattern and the muted tones
an interesting lamp, shapes, patterns, shadows
I love this type of grass – not sure what it is called! And the clouds, gotta love clouds – the colours, the light, the patterns, the movement…

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration

Leave a Reply

