New Directions

I have been so wrapped up in my lampshades and a load of commissions lately that I was feeling towards the end of last week like I had lost my creative direction somehow – like I had stifled my own creativity by limiting my work. As if often the case, the root of the problem is that there are just not enough hours in the day, and so any non-essential creativity has been on hold for a while. Not good when my New Years Resolution was to do at least one creative thing every day! I suppose one could argue that my work is creative, but I think I had in mind something more organic in nature.

Anyway, this weekend I redressed the balance and did some sketching with the scalpel. Of course I made that little card for Immy (see post below) and then in a few snatched moments here and there I did a bit of experimenting to see what would happen, in two areas that have been at the back of my mind for some time.

The first was to try to cut in very fine detail. There are some amazing paper cutters out there who do this brilliantly, and I wanted to see if I could get anywhere close. The most amazing of these is Hina Aoyama

As you can see by the pictures at the bottom, although the work is a lot finer than my normal stuff, I have a very long way to go to get close to that level of intricacy.

The second experiment was to see if I could cut felt. I have been thinking about this for some time, but never at a moment where I am sat near some felt and a scalpel with half an hour to spare! But, I managed to do it at the weekend, and I am rather pleased to find that it is possible to do, and not as difficult as I thought it would be. I am now looking forward to my next trip to the fabric shop so that I can buy a meter or two of felt and see what happens!

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “New Directions

  1. freespiritdesigns

    your paper cutting is beautifully intricate – i love the pink flowery one – so pretty!

    what a great idea to try with felt – it seems to have worked really well and there are so many things you could apply this technique to!

    i know exactly what you mean about there not being enough hours in the day – its hard enough getting the essentials done let alone squeezing anything else in!

    • do you know thought, I thin it has done wonders, doing that little bit of proper creativity at the weekend as this morning I have got so many boring chores done whilst reflecting on my new discoveries! Its a win win situation!

Leave a Reply

