mrsmcindoe in print!

The title may be slightly misleading, nobody has actually written about me, but I am in print – well, some of my designs have been! I found a really interesting print experiment over on Pintrest, requiring nothing more than I already had at home (so kind of free, right?!) I thought I would give it a whirl, what was there to lose? I have been most excited by the results and I think I may very well become addicted to printing.

So, I’ll start at the beginning – firstly, go and check out this fab blog by Cassie Stephens. In it she tells of a fab way to so printing at home. It involves gelatine!

So  the set up is this – a baking tray, some paint or ink, some gelatine. Basically, you make up super strength gelatine and leave it to set overnight. They you spread the surface with in (in my case I used fabric paint) and you should do it with a special roller but I rubbed it around with my fingers.  Then I placed my papercut onto the ink. I made sure it was flat, and then put a sheet of fabric over the top, gave it a rub around, and then lifted off. You can then remove the papercut and take another impression. I even experimented with a two colour one – it is quite tricky to line it up properly for the second colour.

Have a look at the results – what do you think?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now I know they are a bit scruffy, but I think for a first ever attempt at printing, and in my kitchen using what I had with a two-year old running around, it’s not that bad! I am going to continue experimenting and see what else I can come up with.

I also have to think what to do now with the bits of fabric!

4 Comments

Filed under Artwork

4 responses to “mrsmcindoe in print!

  1. Think they look fab! Looking forward to seeing some more 🙂

  2. Thank you! Early days, but am looking forward to adventures in printing!

  3. You are clearly a woman of many talents!

    You might like this. Any kind of rollers – old mangle – would work.
    http://smidgeonpress.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/kitchen-litho-a-non-toxic-print-process-for-your-home/

Leave a Reply

