Leaf cutting

Yesterday I stumbled upon the work of artist Lorenzo Duran. I have searched for a website or some such for him but can’t find anything official, so you will have to google him and see what you can find – search for leaf cutting artist.

Anyway, he makes the most amazing little artworks – from leaves! He does paper cutting, but on a leaf instead. It looks as thought it would be totally impossible to do, so I thought I would give it a go!! It is rather tricky, but I think it is worth it. I couldn’t get the details anywhere near as fine as I would like though, but have worked out if I cut fresh leaves and then leave them to dry I might have a better chance of some fine detailed work. Perhaps ther eis some way of preparing the leaf to start off with – although I am not sure I would be very keen on this, it wouldn’t seem quite right somehow – a bit like cheating? Maybe it is just me…

It was all just a bit of an experiment really. I would love to have more images to show you, but I did dedicate most of yesterday evening to this, when I should have been doping other stuff, so it will just have to do for now. I am glad I gave it a go though – now I know I can do it, I will think through some better designs and might come up with something amazing – you never know.

If you want to have a go yourself, I found the best thing was to iron the leaves first under a couple of sheets of tissue, and to use a brand new scalpel blade. Other than that, it’s the same as paper cutting really.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

9 Comments

Filed under Artwork

9 responses to “Leaf cutting

  1. They are amazing! I presume with the fresh ones you would need to press them flat after cutting so that they don’t curl up and split?

    • yes, I tried that last night with the green one – problem is that the leaf was not flat to start with so it has distorted the image as it dries – will have to stick to pattern rather than text on those ones

  2. freespiritdesigns

    love this! i’ve seen some amazing images of paper cutting floating around on Pinterest, its interesting to hear more about how its done.

    It would be great to see you do more – your first attempts are fab! i love ‘hello there’ – so cute 🙂

    • thank you! Yes, iw ill do more at some point – might do some research to find out how people prepare their leaves – not sure abotu it though….. but yes, just got to wait for inspiration to strike!

  3. I am thoroughly impressed! You must have so much patience!

  4. I’ve never seen that before but it’s so effective,especially held against the lamp.Don’t think I’d have the patience though!

    • thank yo, glad you like! It really isn;t as hard as it looks – and only about half an hour or so for the leaf with the text, maybe a little more for the one with the holes.

Leave a Reply

