Thursday Showcase no. 1 Kirsty. M

Hello, and welcome to the first of a short series of blog posts which will introduce you to a wide range of interesting people I have had the good fortune to meet through online networking since I set up business in January. Check in every Thursday over the summer to find out more about these lovely folk!

OK, so first up we have the fabtastic Kirsty. M. As you can see from the above images, she is an amazingly good paper cutter (just like me!!) and I was so pleased to bump into her on her Facebook page – you have no idea how great it is to find someone who seems to be quite similar to you – it can be a very lonely world, running your own creative business on your own from the dining room! Anyway, ’nuff wafflin’ – let’s get on with it…

1. Whats yer name and where d’ya come from?!
For a name I simply used my own name. However I wanted to do it in a modern and different way to other artists and designers out there. So decided to ditch the other letters to my surname and just use the first. Hence calling myself Kirsty.M.

2. How long have you been doing what you do, and how did you get into it?
I have been doing paper cutting for 6 months now, so quite recent. I first got into paper cutting after finding a few interesting pages of people already doing it. I always loved art and design so I thought this was a great way to fill my spare time, so I gave it a go. I as instantly hooked and started to share my paper cuts with other on social networking sites after a lot of interest in my work I decided to open a business so everyone can enjoy my art in their home.

3. What is the hardest part of your work?
The hardest part at the moment is fitting my paper cutting in to a very busy life. I currently have a high demand full-time job as well as looking after a home. As I hand draw and hand cut all my pieces of art, it takes approx. 8-10 hours to complete a whole piece, if not more for larger sized r more complex work.

4. And what is the most rewarding?
The most rewarding part of my work is the lovely comments about my work. To say in just over 6 months I didn’t even know what paper cutting was ,let along picked up a scalpel and tried it out to now having people buying my work and emailing me to create one-off bespoke piece really puts a massive smile on my face.

5. What do you class yourself as – artist, designer/maker, crafter, creative?
I class myself as an artist mainly, however I would like to see myself as a designer too.

6. Who from the creative world do you admire?
My all time favourite paper cutting artist is Rob Ryan as his work always inspires me to push myself to create amazing pieces of art work. I also admire people like Peter Callesen, Risa Fukui, Brian Dettmer and Su Blackwell who all create amazing things with paper. I could name millions more but I won’t

7. Where does your inspiration come from?
My inspiration comes from all walks of life. It couldn’t pin point the one thing my inspiration comes from. I have an idea in my head, I sketch it out, tweak it a bit then cut it out.

8. Do you listen to music/watch TV whilst you are working, and if so, what?
I tend to do both, us women are very good at multi tasking. I find it very hard to work in complete silence. If i listen to music while work it could range from The Maccabees to The Smiths to Joy Division to a bit of the cure.

9. Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?
I see myself in 5 years living by the seaside in Cornwall in a cute little cottage with a thriving business selling products ranging from original artwork to cushions, cards, prints, fabric and other amazing products with my designs on. I want popular department stores such as John Lewis and Selfridges to stock and sell my products.

10. What sacrifices have you made for your art?!
I have sacrificed the little spare time I do have to dedicate myself to my art and to achieve my goals.

And there you have it! Now you know a little bit about here, why not go and check out her Facebook page – Kirsty.M. And if you like her work, let her know by liking her page too!

Check in next Thursday for another interesting person!

9 Comments

Filed under Artist Showcase

9 responses to “Thursday Showcase no. 1 Kirsty. M

  1. Fabulous idea! Thank you for sharing Kirsty – amazing work, so detailled and gorgeoeus.
    I look forward to meeting the rest of the lovely folk over the next few weeks.

  2. freespiritdesigns

    great interview!

    your work is beautiful Kirsty and i really admire your dedication to your art x

  3. Lovely interview! So nice to have a little glimpse into other makers worlds! Xxx

  4. Another string to your bow, Mrs McIndoe! Great idea.

  5. Thank you all for the lovely comments about my work, please come and check me out Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Kirsty.M.papercutting.artist

  6. What a lovely idea Mrs M, look forward to reading about next weeks artist!

Leave a Reply

