Honest update

OK, so here goes, am going to be as open and honest as I can………

So, yes, I have set up this business, selling my work. What is it like to do this? Well here are the questions I ask myself all the time…..

Why exactly are you doing this?

I want to be able to make enough money to pay for one half decent holiday a year, cover the cost of having a cleaner (which we don’t yet have!) and allow me to always be there for my children – sports days (when they are not cancelled due to inclement weather) parents evenings, assembly, friends round for tea after school etc.

What makes your work so special – loads of people try to do arty-farty crafty stuff, and a lot of them are way better than you….

Well…. All my work is original, I never copy anyone else’s designs. I like to think my lampshades in particular are more than just an average lampshade as they each contain an original work of art. I think my style is unique – at least, I haven’t come across anyone doing exactly the same thing. And people do seem to be buying my work – and not just people I know either, which is amazing!

So what happens to the rest of life whilst you are busy sorting out this business?

Erm….. well, I have to admit, we really do need a cleaner as it is hard to fit everything in, and something has to give – the main thing that ‘gives’ is the house – I am not the best at cleaning and tidying anyway, and neither are the rest of my little family, so it’s not good really. Enough said. I know I am not spending as much time with my children, husband, family and friends as I could/should/want to but I really hope they all understand why, and that hopefully it isn’t in vain and in a couple of years I might be making a healthier profit, be a bit more organised, and be able to fit it all in a bit better.

And what about your health and sanity?

Yes, yes, I know…. I spend most evenings working on the computer or cutting new work until way past my old standard bedtime of 10pm (now more like midnight before I turn the light out). And every spare moment, and many more moments that aren’t really spare at all, are spent trying to work out social networking stuff, and finding possible retailers, and coming up with new ideas, and pricing structures, and craft fairs, and advertising, and finding other people like me who might be able to help and advise, and working out what my customer wants, and editing images, and updating stock lists, and…… ad infinitum. I am trying to remember to eat and drink appropriate things at appropriate intervals, and trying to read a little before bed each night to switch off.

And is it all worth it, is it actually making you happy?

YESSSSS!!!!! Of course it is!! No point in doing it otherwise, is there?!
Have you got any questions you want me to answer? Let me know, and I will try to be as open and honest as I can (to tell the truth, I am a terrible liar!) Don’t forget though, I am away at the moment with limited access, so don’t be dismayed if I don’t answer immediately!

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “Honest update

  1. I really love your blogs especially the people you meet on a Thursday. I can relate to your life although I’m not quite there yet. My full time job takes my energy and there’s little left for my shades but I love working on them at the weekends!

Leave a Reply

