Thursday Showcase No. 4 Shiny Pigeon

Well hello there, and welcome to number four – so glad you are still with me – well, who wouldn’t be, all these interesting people to meet! I have a real treat for you today – a lovely young bird who is crafty in many ways and highly entertaining!

1. Whats yer name and where d’ya come from?!

Hello! My name is Bex, and I blog as Shinypigeon over at Musings from the Pigeon’s Nest. I live in the South East of England, in a teeny tiny rented nest.
2. How long have you been doing what you do, and how did you get into it?
I honestly cannot remember a time in my life when I wasn’t creating something….fabric and wool just happen to be my current medium. I have a grasshopper mind, and fabric is something I have been playing with for around 6 months.
My little online shop has been open for about 4 months now, and I am loving creating and my creations getting out there!
3. What is the hardest part of your work?
Finding the time to actually create. I work full time and I wish I could sit and make all day instead! Also not having an actual craft space really is a pain! My living room lighting SUCKS for close up work and I honestly take over my entire 3 seater sofa when I am working. I cannot wait until we buy our house next year and I can have a designated craft area!
4. And what is the most rewarding?
When people receive their items and they send me piccies of them in situ! I love hearing how happy people are with the things they buy. It gives me a warm fuzzy feeling.
5. What do you class yourself as – artist, designer/maker, crafter, creative?
I would class myself as a crafter, but I guess I also fall into the designer/maker catergory. The problem I have is sticking to one medium! 😀
6. Who from the creative world do you admire?
Anyone who can do something I can’t. There are some amazing makers out there, especially in the facebook and blogging community!
7. Where des your inspiration come from?
I make things I want to buy. I originally began making things for myself, and as more and more people asked about them I began thinking about creating them to sell.
8. Do you listen to music/watch TV whilst you are working, and if so, what?
I am epically addicted to TV series. Currently it is True Blood, but next week who knows… I am very lucky to have an endless supply of TV available! I do find that I tend to listen to the classics (Jane Eyre, Pride and Predjudice etc) in audiobook format when I am using my sewing machine, mainly because I can’t look up!
9. Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?
In 5 years time I would love to be doing this full time, stocking my own physical shelves with my own and others fabulous creations. We can dream big right?!
10. What sacrifices have you made for your art?!
My biggest sacrifice is time. Time is becoming my most valuble commodity, and I do sometimes find myself crafting more than I should.

So for more pigeon business, check out her fab vlogs, he wonderous blog, her tweets, her facebook page, and, um, well, there you have it! Somewhare in there you will find the most lovely little treasures to buy and keep for yourself (or give to a very nice friend)

3 Comments

Filed under Artist Showcase, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Thursday Showcase No. 4 Shiny Pigeon

  1. Pingback: Featured! | Musings from the Pigeon's Nest

  2. A talented little winged crafter!

Leave a Reply

