Thursday Showcase no.6 Drawntostich

Today is Thursday, and here on the blog it can only mean one thing – time to showcase another talented internet bod! And the lovely person of the day is Drawntostich, who I first found on Twitter (I think!). She makes the most amazing artwork using all sorts of materials and methods – really interesting stuff with plenty of pattern, texture and depth.

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/u/0/?ui=2&ik=8e13741a68&view=att&th=1394f42ab4ad7e21&attid=0.4&disp=inline&realattid=f_h66nug9a3&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P_L_3dZ_xpN26A7N4J404-d&sadet=1345656353850&sads=9SLG6opTbQctONKoykrSyliQAA4

1. Whats your name and where d’ya come from?!

My name is Louise O’Hara, my working name is DrawntoStitch. I live in a little village in the heart of Cheshire, called Davenham, where give or take the odd short stay away, I have lived all my life, in fact I was born in the old hospital in the village!

2. How long have you been doing what you do, and how did you get into it?

From a very young age I was always into messing and creating, from home made play-doh made from flour to mud painting!…When  I left school I went to the local art college, and loved it, I did a number of art courses from general art and design through to a degree, I then took time out and ended up as a PA and an Office Manager, this  office life was very alien and really not for me! So I did a PGCE in FE and then went on to do a Masters Degree in Fashion and Textiles, again I took time out to further my career as a lecturer, then my two gorgeous girls came along and earlier this year I decided enough was enough and I could not suppress my passion for creating anymore……..so I started as a free-lance artist and called my company Drawntostitch and here I am today at the age of 38!

3. What is the hardest part of your work?

The hardest part for me is juggling, not literally, but looking after my two young girls, who are 3 and 5, running a home, lecturing part time and finding enough time to get into my studio space to produce work and reflect!

4. And what is the most rewarding?

I find the most rewarding is when people like my work and want to talk about it or buy a piece or two. I love it when customers get in touch and tell me they’re over the moon with their purchase!

5. What do you class yourself as – artist, designer/maker, crafter, creative?

When I did my Degree I used to see myself as an artist but my practice seems to have taken a different path and I now consider myself a designer/maker.

6. Who from the creative world do you admire?

I admire Julie Arkell, Kirt Schwitters, Joseph Cornell, Manon Gignoux and many, many more!

7. Where does your inspiration come from?

I am inspired by my childhood holidays, the stories my children tell me and I have a huge passion for ‘wabi sabi’ and beauty in imperfection, this really underpins the style of work I produce and the marks which I make n my mixed media work.

8. Do you listen to music/watch TV whilst you are working, and if so, what?

I find it impossible to watch the tv  when in my studio but I love to listen to music (rather loud too), I have  very eclectic taste from, Adele, Nina Simone, Natalie merchant, Amy Winehouse, usually women with good strong vocals!

9. Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?

I would like to be a successful practitioner, with a presence in many galleries up and down the country and maybe a gallery of my own…. but as long as I my family are happy, I will be content.

10. What sacrifices have you made for your art?!

I can’t say that I have made any real sacrifices, there are occasions when I feel guilty for not spending enough time with my girls, but I want to make a success of my life so I can inspire them and make them proud of me.

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/u/0/?ui=2&ik=8e13741a68&view=att&th=1394f42ab4ad7e21&attid=0.3&disp=inline&realattid=f_h66nsd3p2&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P_L_3dZ_xpN26A7N4J404-d&sadet=1345656450644&sads=yNMjoLtIxJxiCwhdzqLaUITNhNo

So if you would like to find out more, why not check out Drawntostich at the following locations…

Drawntostitch on Facebook

Drawntostitch on Twitter

Drawntostitch Website

Drawntostich on Pinterest

Thats all for now folks, see you again next Thursday for the next in the series.

Leave a comment

Filed under Artist Showcase

Leave a Reply

