Thursday Showcase No. 8 mrsmcindoe!!!!!!!!!!

Another Thursday showcase for you! The person I was going to profile today has been having a hectic time recently and so we have not finished her post yet, so I thought, why not do one for myself?! Just incase you were wondering what my answers would be – I have to say, I have been wondering how I would answer since i started this series, so I’ll have a go right now and see what comes out!

1. Whats yer name and where d’ya come from?!

My name is Naomi, and I work as mrsmcindoe – incase you hadn’t guessed, my surname is actually McIndoe (pronounced Mac-In-Doo, emphasis on the Mac) I live in Worcester, we moved here a year ago. I have also lived in the following places – London (Peckham, Primrose Hill, Kensal Green), Bristol (many different districts), Manchester, Sheffield, Godalming, Peak District, Kenilworth, Bromsgrove, Solihull, Burton On Trent.

2. How long have you been doing what you do, and how did you get into it?

I officially started work in January 2012. It all came about rather by accident. The previous year I made a picture for my husband for Valentines Day. We put it up in our home, and lots of people have asked where we got it from and been shocked when I have admitted to making it myself. I thought I would have a bit of a go at doing some more cutting, and again, people seemed to like it! Then at my first craft fair I was approached and asked to create a series of greetings cards, which is where that element came in. And the lampshades – well, I cut in the evenings, and often hold my work up to the big table lamp to see how it is going, and my husband suggested I turn them into lampshades. I mentioned this to one of my bestest friends who told me a good friend of hers (who I had met a long time before) was now running classes in how to make lampshades – fate! So I went to see the lovely Ruth of Quincy Lampshades who taught me all I needed to know.

3. What is the hardest part of your work?

There are not enough hours in the day – simple as that. I have a 2 yr old son who is at home with me all the time (starting nursery for two mornings next week) and a 5 yr old daughter who has just finished her first year of school. On top of that I have a husband, a cat and a puppy, plus a house that is half renovated and a garden in need of some serious attention. Oh, and the PTA. There is just not enough time to fit it all in, and it is very hard prioritising and re-prioritising over and over again during the day to accommodate everything.

4. And what is the most rewarding?

I love it when a plan comes together – when I have had an idea, or working on a commission, and am doubtful that it will work, but then something clicks and it all fits and I am very pleased with myself! Plus all the lovely comments from people I have never met, both on the blog, on twitter and Facebook and at craft fairs – it is what keeps me going.

5. What do you class yourself as – artist, designer/maker, crafter, creative?

I would say designer maker – all my work is my own design, and I make it myself without laser cutters or staff.

6. Who from the creative world do you admire?

Obviously all the lovely people I have been mentioning on this showcase series. On top of that I would include Orla Kiely, Rob Ryan, Phillipe Stark, Grayson Perry….. a never-ending list really!

7. Where does your inspiration come from?

Inspiration comes from everything – every experience, every thing I see, it all goes in and gets logged somewhere and bits of it come out again at a later date, sometimes years later, sometimes that afternoon. Sometimes these bits are good and they work, other times they can lead onto something altogether different, and sometimes it is utter rubbish that goes in the bin! A general love of pattern, form, shape, colour, texture – am sure everyone is the same, more or less. I like to surround myself with interesting things – be that little objects in my own home, or fantastic countryside to walk in, or visiting shops and markets.

8. Do you listen to music/watch TV whilst you are working, and if so, what?

I am a big music lover, and it is very sad that I can not listen to music when I work – I just get too involved int he music and can’t concentrate at all. I do watch TV though, when I am cutting in the evenings, or using social networking stuff (twitter, fb, pinterest etc). Only mind numbing programs though, nothing too interesting. In fact, sometimes it works out quite well – my husband can watch sport on TV and still have me sitting next to him, as if I am working, I don’t mind football too much (can’t believe I just wrote that – thankfully husband is away with the children where there is no internet access so won’t read it!)

9. Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?

Doing the same as now but with less stress! I would like to branch out into other homewares – printing my designs onto fabric for cushions, curtains, wallpaper, bedspreads, napkins, placemats – that sort of thing.

10. What sacrifices have you made for your art?!

I have pretty much no ‘me’ time, the house is a tip, the rest of the family and all my friends don’t get as much attention as I would like to give, and when my son goes to school in a couple of years we won’t have as big an income as we would if I had a ‘proper’ part time job.

Phew….. well, there you go – that was actually pretty hard to write! so an extra massive thank you to all those who have agreed to be involved in this series, I now know how much effort you have put in!

Leave a comment

Filed under Artist Showcase, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

