Thursday Showcase No. 10 Divine Choice Creations

Wowzers – the tenth in the series! Amd I am so excited to be able to inroduce you to the lovely Pearletta Wilson of Divine Choice Creations. I met Pearletta on twitter thanks to #cbuk chat – a weekly meeting of bloggers who blog about their crafts. She is a warm, kind hearted soul with a real passion for her work. Her she is, on Olympic Torch day, showing her support for St Lucia, Jamaic and the UK all at once!

And her is a little bit more about her…

1.Whats yer name and where d’ya come from?!

My name is Pearletta and I create and craft under the name DivineChoice Creations. I was born in London and have always lived here. I grew up in North London then moved to East London more than 30 years ago. I have to include St Lucia in an answer about where I come from as that is my family homeland and although I am British by birth I am also St Lucian.

2. How long have you been doing what you do, and how did you get into it?

Making cards using various media started five years ago. I’ve always been a creative person and when I was admitted to hospital and knew that it would be a long stay I decided that I needed something to keep my mind occupied. Luckily I found something in the hospital shop that fitted the bill – a cross stitch kit. I was bit rubbish and didn’t do it very well but my mum then brought me some cross stitch cards kits and some other crafty stuff. There were some nurses from the Philippines who were expert stitchers so they showed me how to work better and so it was only natural that I gave one of the cards I made to them as a thank you when I left.

During my recovery I discovered card making magazines with paper and embellishments included and so I started following the designs and made cards for family and friends to say thank you and for celebrations. That is really how it all started as it led to my own designs and creations.

As I said I’ve always been a creative person so in recent years I have picked up skills that were lying dormant and incorporated them into my crafting.

3. What is the hardest part of your work?

Maintaining my creativity during difficult times e.g. when my health is not good or when coping with other emotional issues is the hardest part of my work as my creativity is inevitably affected. It is partly why I switch from card making to knitting or stitching and back again so there is always something I can make to fit my current circumstance.

4. And what is the most rewarding?

The most rewarding thing is receiving a positive response to one of my creatons whether online or off but I also get a huge amount of satisfaction from seeing a design develop and completed well.

5. What do you class yourself as – artist, designer/maker, crafter, creative?

Oooh that’s a tough one…mmmm.

Well I’d probably say all of the above. Is that allowed?

6. Who from the creative world do you admire?

One of the first handmade items I ever bought online was made by a knitter and stitcher whose work I both admire and am inspired by – Julie Cartwright of Life in Stitches. I also admire the work of Stacy Ann Cole of Creativesque – her work is so distinctive. I admire the yarn creations of Penny Graham-Jones of Planet Penny too as I get the most repins when I pin her work on Pinterest. Seriously though these are just a few names that spring to mind but I could name lots of people.

Besides the talent in the their craft I also admire crafters who have great blogs and are getting into the media and doing well at craft fairs – they ‘re all so organised!

7. Where does your inspiration come from?

I am inspired by nature, children, art, especially African art, TV, even the urban landscape … can’t really put my finger on one thing specifically. Some ideas just pop into my head as if from nowhere.  I am like a little kid sometimes finding beauty and pleasure in the simplest of things – a pink summer evening sky, the twinkle of dew on the lawn or in a spiders web, the first strawberry of the season…

8. Do you listen to music/watch TV whilst you are working, and if so, what?

Yes I do all those things. If I am listening to music I like to shuffle my mp3 player so I hear everything from roots reggae, to r&b, rap, and gospel. If I am watching TV I enjoy football or programmes like LA Ink (not into tattoos I just admire the art and the ideas they come up with), food programmes (Nigella, Saturday Kitchen Live…) or something factual like ‘Who Do You Think You Are?’, The Empire or some true life tale. Sometimes when I work I’ll listen to a drama or comedy on digital radio. I especially like Agatha Christie even though I’ve heard or seen all the stories more than once. I’m the same with Columbo. Oh yeah and I am a fan of the Archers. My mum used to listen to it when I was little and I thought it was so boring except for the theme tune. I got into it about 20 years ago when I ‘discovered’ spoken radio and I’ve listened ever since.

9. Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?

I would like to think that I will be making fantastic cards with a wider range using more of my own artwork, be a much better knitter and stitcher with my own website including a shop and a blog in one. I expect to be an old hand at craft markets and even venture out of London once in a while to pursue my creative endeavours. I’d also like to have a community project encouraging people to make stuff and have fun doing it.

10. What sacrifices have you made for your art?!

That’s a bit deep unless you mean the hours I’ve sacrificed sleep because I must see a spark of an idea through to the end even if that means staying up until the birds start singing or the neighbourhood cockerel (yes even in the heart of London we have a cockerel) starts crowing his head off. Or what about the house cleaning I sacrifice because I just have to complete a drawing, card or knitting project?  Yes these are the sacrifices I’ve made for my art 😉

See, what a lovely lady- I bet you are glad you have met her! Here is some of her work…

You can find Pearletta in a number of places, just click on the links below….

Divine Choice Creations on Twitter

Divine Choice Creations Blog

So pop on over and say hello, and have a look at what else Pearletta has been up to!

See you again next week x

6 Comments

Filed under Artist Showcase

6 responses to “Thursday Showcase No. 10 Divine Choice Creations

  1. Thanks again for including me as one of your interesting people Naomi. It was a lot less scary and much more fun than I anticipated xx

  2. I have ‘known’ Pearletta as an e-friend for over a year now. We are not constantly in touch but we support each other as and when needed or when we have news to share. Recently, she gifted me one of her owl purses as I am an owl fan/collector (not live ones or stuffed deceased either). Currently, one of my WIP is a special Olympic gift for Pearletta – one day, my friend, one day.

  3. Great interview! I’m super nosey about other crafters, so really enjoyed hearing about Pearletta. Hurrah for #cbuk!

    Claire x

Leave a Reply

