Thursday Showcase No. 13 Leaff Design Ltd.

Hi there, and welcome to the 13th Thursday showcase! Unlucky for some, but I have always loved the number thirteen.Today is a funny one as it is a company based less than a mile away from my front door! But I did actually find them on the internet, not in person – but who knows, maybe I will actually get to meet the real world version one day! Also, before you start reading, please accept my apologies for the terrible formating/layout of this post – for some reason it has all gone nuts and is refusing to do what I want it to (definitely not operator error, I assure you…ahem….). Anyway, enough of the waffling and on with the show(case)!

1. Whats yer name and where d’ya come from?!

My name is Kate, and I’m originally from hilly south Wales, having moved to Worcester around 5 years ago. I am the co-owner of Leaff Design, along with my amazing husband, Jay.

2. How long have you been doing what you do, and how did you get into it?
I have been practising Graphic Design since school, when I chose it as one of my options for my final years. I then went onto college and eventually University, where I gained my degree. Since then, I have worked in the field through a small number of jobs, a spot of freelancing, and eventually Leaff was launched! Leaff is just over 2 years old.
3. What is the hardest part of your work?
This is actually quite easy to answer. When a client has a great appreciation of quality and design, their projects have heaps of potential, but their budget cannot support the full potential of what the project could reach. We always bend over backwards to accommodate client’s budgets as much as we can, but sometimes it is painful to see how big things could get, if only there was the budget to make that a reality.
4. And what is the most rewarding?
That is easily the client’s reaction to a finished project. There is nothing that compares to that. It is particularly satisfying to get the very best out of a budget, and exceeding expectations of what can be achieved within that budget.

5. What do you class yourself as – artist, designer/maker, crafter, creative?

A designer, since that is my job title, though both myself and Jay are very creative people in so many other ways too – it doesn’t stop at design.
6. Who from the creative world do you admire?
So many people! First and foremost I would say the array of people and businesses that we meet on a daily basis, but to be more specific, there are a few really great creatives that I draw so much inspiration from.
I find American designer Joy (Oh Joy!) very inspirational, as a female designer, and as a new mum now successfully juggling her business. Then there are people like the Australian artist Rilla Alexander, for her amazing craft, and creative Katie Sokoler (Color me Katie) for her huge amounts of creative energy.

7. Where does your inspiration come from?

Everywhere! I’m a very visual person, and so it is the simple things really. The weather and seasons have a massive effect on me, as does all forms of nature. I love my books, paper and texture, music, and fantasy films such as those by Tim Burton. These things inspire me massively, even if they are completely unrelated to a project.
8. Do you listen to music/watch TV whilst you are working, and if so, what?
I listen to music, yes. When Jay isn’t in the studio with me I tend to listen to 6 music for company, but when he is with me or if I just get fed up with the music on 6 then we listen to our playlists on iTunes. These include groups such as Minus The Bear, Thrice, Arcade Fire, Agnes Obel, Bloc Party, City and Colour, Fleet Foxes and Menomena to name but a few.
9. Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?
In our new studio in our dream location – where Leaff is thriving of course! We have huge dreams for our next studio.
10. What sacrifices have you made for your art?!
That is a tough one. All of our savings have gone into Leaff, and our lives have been somewhat restrained since Leaff begun because of that. We’ve had to be very frugal with our money, though I find it hard not to see the positives in this too. Controlling and managing your money in itself is a huge lesson, and learning how to make it go further and further for your needs is an even bigger lesson. I wouldn’t say it has changed how we feel about our lives, even though it has been hard at times, so I’m not sure it feels such a sacrifice. On the contrary, we appreciate every single thing that we have, and how lucky we are to be working for ourselves and together, so in that sense it is a blessing.

And so now you will be keen to find out more….. well for starters, check out the blog – well worth a read for a great insight on how they work with clients, but also more about the team and the company plus local news, other artists, visits and photography. You should also check out the following….

follow them on Twitter

like them on Facebook

check out their awesome website

and of course Shop!

Leave a comment

Filed under Artist Showcase, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

