Thursday Showcase No.12 Lottie of London

On this crisp (OK, cold) autumn morning let me throw a little colour your way with and introduction to Lottie of London and her amazing handcrafted jewellery. I met Lottie on Twitter and just love the colours and detail in pieces such as this….

Lottie Of London Pendant

What do you think? Lovely, isn’t it?! Have a read and find out more…

1. Whats yer name and where d’ya come from?!
My name is Clare Lewis and I am a jewellery designer from south London.  I craft handmade bespoke jewellery using my favourite medium polymer clay.

2. How long have you been doing what you do, and how did you get into it?
I have always been crafty and had a love for beads which is how I got into polymer clay.  Originally I wanted to learn the art of glass lampworking but living a flat in London it just wasn’t to be.  I then discovered some polymer clay posts on the UK Beaders board http://ukbeaders.forumup.org/ and couldn’t believe that such gorgeous work could be created from what I initially regarded as children’s clay such as Fimo.  Polymer clay in UK is still considered as something for the kids to make little models out of over here and is not always readily available, but in the USA it’s quite huge with some fantastic artists.

3. What is the hardest part of your work?
The sanding takes it toll on my poor fingers and nails, but the time and effort put in to finish your pieces does make it worthwhile.

4. And what is the most rewarding?
To see a polymer cane come together after you’ve spent time building it out of clay and the finished results of my jewellery are always rewarding, even more so when I receive such lovely comments for my work

5. What do you class yourself as – artist, designer/maker, crafter, creative?
I guess I class myself as a designer/maker, as I get ideas popping in my head all the time for new designs and beads which I then try to make a reality.

6. Who from the creative world do you admire?
In the polymer clay world I really admire Donna Kato  she has produced some wonderful vibrant work with polymer clay and is one of the first books i ever brought on the subject.  Also Sandra Mccaws  caning techniques are mind blowing and look very complex.

7. Where does your inspiration come from?
I get my inspiration from many places such as nature in its bold colours but also its form and shapes.  I also use fashion as an inspiration, colour trends and prints which I like to try to turn into useable canes, they don’t always work but I have fun trying.

8. Do you listen to music/watch TV whilst you are working, and if so, what?
When I am working I love to listen to classic fm as it helps me to concentrate, I find it really hard to work with the tv on as it distracts me and I end up watching and not getting very much done.

9. Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?
I really want to make a go of designing and selling my jewellery and at the moment I am focusing all my efforts on doing this, so that hopefully in five years time I will be able to make a comfortable living and continue to do what I love.

10. What sacrifices have you made for your art?!
I don’t think i have made any real sacrifices, I’m also a housewife so I haven’t had to give up a paid job so i can do what I do now.  As I focus my attention more on my work and public profile time is becoming a bit of a sacrifice but like life I guess it’s a balancing act.

Lottie of London Jewellery
So now you will want to be knowing where you can lay your paws of some of this stuff….. well check out the Lottie of London website for a start! And why not show your support by following on Twitter and liking on Facebook?

2 Comments

Filed under Artist Showcase

2 responses to “Thursday Showcase No.12 Lottie of London

  1. Great post both of you. I see the chats have been inspiring you both. Well done 🙂

  2. Amazing work and great interview. I have to say you take brilliant photos too Clare. See you both on the chats 🙂

Leave a comment